Ashbourne Giants win Baseball Ireland B Division

The Ashbourne Giants won the B Division of the Irish Baseball League with an 8-3 victory over the Belfast Buccaneers.

The Giants go off to a quick lead in the first, with Liam Shier and Paul Carey scoring. The Giants extended their lead to 4-0 in the second when Fionn Gallahar-Hall and Ryan Wiebe came home.

Belfast closed the gap to 4-1 in the 3rd when Ultan McGill scored on a Terry Rosbotham double. Another run by Darwin Sanchez in the 4th made the score 4-2. However the Giants stormed back and scored 4 in their half of the 4th, making it 8-2.

Kliever Sanchez scored a late run for the Bucs but it wasn’t enough as the Giants won 8-3. Sean Mitchell got the win. Danny Keane led the offence with 3 hits, 2 RBIs and a run scored.